National Events


33rd Annual Session of FLO

The 33rd Annual Session of FLO was organised on April 14, 2017 at FICCI, federation House, New Delhi. Shri Arun Jaitley, Hon’ble Finance Minister, Defence Minister and Minister of Corporate Affairs, Government of India was the Chief Guest.

The theme this year is GENDER PARITY and FLO has commissioned a special study, the first of its kind, which has created a Gender Parity Index to be applied to both  Government and Private Sector organisations.

Vinita Bimbhet, President FLO said “Weaving around this theme, we have created a program about women who have overcome the ‘Gender Challenge’ and reached the very top and been really successful in their chosen careers or business. These women, can be  great role models for other women across India, who aspire to work in perceived, male dominated sectors.

These iconic women, and two Iconic men, will share their journeys and the ups and downs that came in their wake. The endeavour is to spread their stories to inspire and give hope and strength to those wanting to walk that path. FLO will actively do so via its 15 Chapters spread all over the country. “

FLO Gender Parity Index – A Toolkit to Evaluate Gender Diversity & Women Empowerment in the Formal Sector of India, was released by Shri Arun Jaitley

“A number of global indices focus on empowerment of women and gender parity; however, most of them look at the subject from a macro view; almost all quantify the dimensions of control over resources and outcomes. None address gender parity at a micro level, in the formal sector. The FLO GENDER PARITY INDEX is broad and holistic which measures where an organisation stands vis-à-vis others while presenting a step-by-step guide to achieve higher levels of gender parity in different dimensions.” 

Vinita Bimbhet, FLO President said that the “FLO GENDER PARITY INDEX ia a big ste in our quest of Getting to Equal “

The ICON Awards were given out to eminent personalities, who have not only contributed towards sustainable economic development of the nation but also have been catalystic in making women empowerment a success by playing exemplary role in creating successful women in various fields.

The awardees were:  
Ms. Shobhana Bhartia, Chairperson & Editorial Director, Hindustan Times Group 
Ms. Anita Dongre, Fashion Designer & Founder -House of Anita Dongre 
Ms Renu Sud Karnad , Managing Director, Housing Development Finance Corporation 
Ms Farah Khan, Director, Producer, Actor & Choreographer  
Dr. Prathap C. Reddy, Founder, Chairman, Apollo Hospitals Enterprise Limited 
Mr Mahavir Singh Phogat, The man who inspired the film “Dangal”, Olympic Coach, Wrestler and Dronacharya Awardee 

Ms Vasvi Bharat Ram took over as the President from Vinita Bimbhet, at the conclusion of the 33rd Annual Session on April 14th, 2017.